Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ice Fishing in Canada/USA?
Hello,
I hope, I’m here right!?!
I’m Jon from Switzerland. I’m a teacher and a passionate fisherman. I organize fishing group travels for my friends and me throughout the world and I also write stories for a fishing magazine.
www.trueschenfischen.ch
Unfortunately it’s very hard to find offers of lodges in Canada where you can go ice fishing nearby.
I’m looking for the following:
An accommodation that is not too far from any civilization, that means one that is easy to reach since one week of fishing is short enough anyway and you don’t want to waste any time for arrival and departure.
Of course there should be an experienced guide on the spot for the first one or two days and the chances of catching some good fish should be above-average since the expectations will be very high when taking on such a long trip.
The target fish in Winter would be mostly lake trouts and burbots.
The season of travelling covers Christmas to the end of April (if there’s still ice then?).
Does all of this hold true for you?
Thank you very much!
Best regards
Jon
[signature]
Being an experienced angler, you above any one else knows that no one can guarantee you will catch fish. This can be said for the best fishing waters in the world. Fish do get loc jaw due to lunar cycles weather conditions.

planning a trip, timing will be the most important part of the trip if you want a for sure catch. Then you have to deal with the fickle finger of fate, Will the weather prevailing weather pattern provide you with the right conditions to turn on a major bite. and finally, when ice fishing, some times the bite can come on in the middle of the night so you have to be ready to go out at unusual hours of the day or night.

cant tell you the number of times I have seen fishing just down right ecstatic one day and then the next day nothing, not even a rockbass.