Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ice Augers Compared
I made a trip up to Willard over the weekend to check out the ice conditions up there. While there I ran into these three fellas testing their ice augers:

[url "http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-ksR7ahVf4"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-ksR7ahVf4[/url]

The ice had about 6 inches of sopping wet slush on top except in the shade. The ice was still about a foot thick. There was about one or two yards of open water all around the edges.

As for the auger test, I appologize for the poor sound. I am just learning this video stuff.

My theroy was that the guy with the 5" auger would have beaten the 8" and even the power auger. My theroy was completely blown! But I am pretty sure that if the guy with the 5" would have shortened the handle length, he would have been much faster. But even that theroy might be wrong because when the 8" was traded with the 5", Curly (the man with the 5") beat again! I think that maybe it's the man ... not the machine.
[signature]
thanks for this, its very helpful [Smile]
[signature]
I thought you weren't concerned about "speed", rather than "effort" needed to drill the hole. I have an 8" manual Mora and as long as its sharp it cuts great. I guess if you think about it, if you have an 8" and a 5" and you are rotating them at the same speed and they are the same degree of sharpness, then they should "tie" in a since they are cutting through the same thickness of ice. One is just cutting a larger hole. If you have the muscle to use an 8" then go for it. If I was to go with a power auger, why not go the largest possible? You're not going to save any significant weight with a smaller power auger.
[signature]
Loved the video! That was great fun!

I do believe that with a little work we can get Ice Augering approved as an official event before the next Olympics. It has to be as exciting as Curling! Surely someone from Utah can bring home the Olympic Gold in Augering!