Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
first time trout fishing
this is my first time going trout fishing
what kind of bait should i use please reply
[signature]
Hey, welcome to BFT!
It is always good to see someone new here and I am looking forward to us learning a lot from each other.

As far as your question goes it is kind of like asking, "Who is the most beautiful woman in the world?" You will get a lot of different answers (I think we all know it is the wife o' my life).
Everyone has their favorite.
Every situation calls for a change up.
Lakes vs streams; summer vs spring; boat vs dock; dock vs shore; rain vs sun; stocked vs wild; spy vs spy
I think you get the idea...

There was an interesting thread started on this board about favorite baits I am going to try and put a link to the thread, but I am not an expert so if it does not work just do a search on the board or your state board for bait.
[url "http://www.bigfishtackle.com/cgi-bin/gforum/gforum.cgi?post=329692;forum_view=forum_view_collapsed;page=unread#unread"][/url]
[url "http://www.bigfishtackle.com/cgi-bin/gforum/gforum.cgi?post=329692;forum_view=forum_view_collapsed;page=unread#unread"]Bait thread[/url]

Either way good luck to you in your trout adventures!
[signature]
nightcrawlers, meal worms, minnows, powerbait (a must in my opinion), white buctail jigs like what are used for crappie, just about anything that looks like food and is small enough for them to eat. Good Luck!
[signature]
Welcome to BFT. To start try mepps style spinners, red and white spoons and then tie on a clear bubble filled with water and a fly. For bait a worm on a hook below a bobber always works as well.
[signature]