Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New to Channel Catfish
Where is the best place on a river to throw a cast out for catfish? Where do they tend to be in rivers? Specifically the chattahoochee. Also, should different bait be used when fishing in a lake or river for catfish? Thanks
[signature]
Try logjams and anywhere the current changes. That should help you get some nice eating fish. My largest forktail (I'm new to this also, so my largest is only about 6-8 pounds) came from fishing a deep hole in the river.

Holes are my favorite to fish because you can sink worms down without worrying about your line being stripped and they have always held a lot of promise for me.

To find deep river water, look for water that has a darker shade. Mark your anchor in yards and see how far it goes if it's difficult to tell. The shores in deeper areas genererally tend to be sheer rock walls intead of gradual slopes.

I caught mine on chicken liver. The stuff is hard to keep on a hook, unless you get a wire-gaurd ("liver hook"). They're exensive, so you can try other methods. My grandpa used to but the liver in nylon sacks from cut panty hose.

Blood baits might not last long in a river's current, but they will act like chum.

The best bait is fresh cut bait. It stays on, it's natuaral, it has blood, etc. The first time I went catfishing, my cousin got a carp in his baitcasting net. We cut the fish up (it was about 15 lbs, but why throw back an invasive species?) into pieces and let the current take pour lines. Unfortunately, I was new to catfishing (I was about 10) and my hook sets were terrible. The hits we got must have been from large cats because the rods bounced about 2 feet with each eat.

I have no idea how to fish for whiskers in lakes though. I'd love to hear what ideas come up. Best of luck to you!
[signature]