Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What Type of Line
I have a Penn Jigmaster #500 and a #309 Level Wind with the level wind removed, and I like going out on half day boats and three-quarter day boats. I'm seeking advice on what type of line to use, what lb, brand, etc. Advice would be greatly appreciated.
[signature]
There is a ton of lines out there. Berkley and Trilene have always worked for me. 1/2 day boats I would not use anything less than 12-16 pound and 3/4 day right now you better be using 20-30lb.
[signature]
Hello BFFG,

I would go with 30# P-Line on the JigMaster 500 and 20# P-Line on the #309.
[signature]
¸.·´¯`·.´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸><(((º>

TheAngler BFT Moderator
Thanks for the advice angler. I know how to fish, but when it comes to choosing what type of line I'm at a loss[:/]because there are so many different kinds. Do they sell P-line at Wal-Mart.
[signature]
hey fishfather, thanks for your advice too, I have some Trilene Big Game line on one of my reels right now and that seems to do O.K.
[signature]
I always forget about P-Line. That works good too. Alot of the guys on these boards work on the charters so they should be able to tell you what they see working.

P-Line or Berkley for your heavier fish!
[signature]
[size 2][size 1]Hello BFFG,[/size]

[size 1]I here you and the variety and technology is always changing, even on things like line. I am kind of a creature of habit and don't tend to get to creative when it comes to things like choosing line. I find something I like and stick with it. Until someone educates me to a better alternative (which does happen). [/size]

[size 1]I wouldn't think Wal Mart would carry P-Line but you can check available retailers at the link below. P.S. I don't say P-Line because they advertise with us (they don't) its just a great product. I would hate to loose a fish of a life time because I decided to get creative on selecting my line (but that's just me).[/size][/size]