Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
60 something Evenrude-First time Owner
So a friend and I just went on a boat together, and I have to admit, I know little to nothing about boat maintenance. I have a few questions that I would appreciate if someone could help me with. The oil for the lower compartment, would I use the same oil as I would for a car engine, or is there some other special oil? Also, the oil that goes in the gas, what kind of oil do I use there. Thanks for the help.
[signature]
The oil you use in your car engine should not get anywhere near your outboard. They make a special oil for the lower unit. Ask at a boat shop and they can get you set up with the right oil. They sell a two-cycle oil that one mixes with the gas. It can also be purchased at the same boat shop.
[signature]
Thanks for your help. As you can tell by my question, I am completely new at this and you probably just saved me a load of heartache.
[signature]
The best way to find out what you will need at your local boat shop is with the model number and horsepower of your outboard. As Johnson/Evinrude have electric shift and mechanical shift lower units, both of which require a different gear lube. The gas to oil ratio that you will mix in the tank is 50:1 or 16 oz to 6 gallons use a good quality 2 stroke oil, buy an economeasure for mixing gas and oil it makes this a lot easier.
[signature]
So is the "60s" in reference to the age, or the HP?

I've been subjected to new newbie mishaps with outboard motors. You've got good advice on the oil and gas.
There's a marine shop at either end of the valley - Don's north of Smithfield, and Lee's over in Hyrum.

Do not run old or bad gas through a 2-cycle. That can cause some heartache. (just ask my old chainsaw!) I've been told even with stabilizer, the gas can/will get sour.