Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Winter time storage of the float gear
Okay all you tube-eficianado's out there. Being this is my first year tubing and the Utah winter is fast approaching, another simple question comes to mind... How do I store these things tubes and waders?! I am planning on storing them indoors but my wife needs to put them in a box to shelf easier. Any suggestions?? I know there will be some.
[signature]

Hey there One_eyed_jack,

To eliminate all the hassle, I suggest you move out here to Califoria! We have been known to be able to fish some of our lake and ocean waters 365 days a year! I'm sure you could find time between trips to write the wife about the snow conditions in Utah! just joking.

There are special wader hangers but I'll bet TubeDude has an even better idea. If you've got the neoprene foam waders my biggest concern would be that they are stored dry so as not to milldew. Same deal with the tube and keep it out of constant direct sunlight. Once a float tube is out of the box I don't like to try to fold it like it may have come from the factory. Creases in cloth, vinyl and rubber become weak spots in time and with wear and you don't need any more potential problems with your air chamber (rubber or vinyl) or cover.

JapanRon
[signature]
[cool] Hey JR, You do have a point there. One eyed Jack needs to come to Cali. If OEJ can hurry I can take him to Castaic before it closes. You don't even need your waders yet. Water temps are only 74 in the morning and a nice 80deg by noon. Come on down OEJ. You are welcome here anytime.[cool] Don't ferget yer tannin lotion. hee hee
[signature]
I would first make sure float is completley deflated with valves left open.

Make sure both waders and float tube are clean and dry.

Kmart, Target and Walmart sell these plastic boxes with lids that are perfect to store equipment without damaging it. The mark it it and put it away until it warms up.

Then move to California and unpack![Wink]
[signature]