Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Looking for gear recommendations!
Just looking for some gear at a reasonable price. Im a full time college student with a part time job so im looking for the best bang for my very few bucks. ill list what im looking for along with what i actually have or used.

Waders- bought some $12 pvc waders at big 5 and they tore the first time out. looking for some that will of course keep me dry and be able to breath, with or with out boots attached and good for wading in partially frozen rivers.

Wading boots- dont have any haha just use Under Armour Quick Trainers because they dry fast and wont soak up much water.

Vest- again dont have one. i just use a hunting fanny pack that i rigged as more of a small backpack. basically just looking for one that doesnt scream NEWBIE!

Reel- not sure what i have, it came in a beginners kit i got for christmas. looking for a small, light reel that can handle 20" browns to bluegill

if someone could just point me in the right direction brand wise it would be awesome. i visit alot of sites like bass pro and cabelas but some of their equipment i look at doesnt have reviews so i have no idea if i would last me till graduation or a hour into my fishing trip.

Thanks,
Frank da Tank
[signature]
I have an inexpensive Okuma SLV reel on one of my rods. They run about $50, but it runs smooth and stood up to some rough stream fishing.

Do a search on BFT on the wader brands.

I would suggest that you pick up some on one of Cabela's sales. If they don't perform for you, Cabelas is pretty good on returns.
[signature]
And yes, the Okuma reel does handle big fish just fine.

[inline 10-11Aug33.JPG]
[signature]