Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New fly reel
Im planning on getting a new fly reel and wanted to know what you guys think about the ross fly start reel. Im still learning and just want to upgrade a little over the one I have now. Looking in the price range of 100-150 and also need some new line. Mostly fish the provo river, but planning on fishing the weber and some lakes also.
[signature]
I don't use one but looks fine. Do some checking around though, seems the price varies a lot.
http://www.amazon.com/Ross-Worldwide-Fly...B002WW6EUY

Spools are reasonable as well, you will want a couple of those too.
[signature]
Sorry I meant the fly rise reel its about 100 dollars at most places.
[signature]
May want to also look at Allen Flyfishing "Trout" reel, I have one on my back up rod and it is sweet!
[signature]
I second the Allen Reels.

I also like the Okuma SLV. It is inexpensive, but it takes a beating and works great.

Get a good line. The reel isn't as important as the line for trout etc.
[signature]
Those look pretty sick, do you know where they sell them or only available online.
[signature]
Online from Allen, great customer service and great reels!!
[signature]
From what I hear Allen Reels are good never used one but lots a good reviews. For your price range Id say go with a Lamson Konic
[signature]
Allen reels are a sweet reel. I have switched out several of my higher priced reels for them. I have 3 black, blue, green, red

[Image: 100_0036.jpg]
[Image: IMG_3523.jpg]
And the brand new color
[Image: 066.jpg]

They are sexy reels

Get ahold of Justin or Evan, they definitely go out of their way to please. May I add, all there gear is top notch.
[signature]
I have two of these and so far they look and operate great:

Pflueger Trion 1956 and the 1978

Nice drag and smooth operation. I second spending your money on line made a huge difference for me.
[signature]
I like machined reels better that cast, just my .02 though.
[signature]