Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
backing, fly line, tappet, lead recomendation
hello im new to fly fishing and this forum. so far it has been a great experience and packed full of knowledge.

i purchased a okuma magnitude ML 5/6 and a Cabelas three forks 6 weight 9' rod. it will mainly used in lakes. what would you recommend?
i am new to this but
high vis 20lbs backing
fly line 6# WF (do i want floating or sinking)i would guess sinking
tippet?
lead around 9'?

i also bought a combo cabelas wind rod reel 4# 7' 6" rod for streams and such.
[signature]
[quote joetal]hello im new to fly fishing and this forum. so far it has been a great experience and packed full of knowledge.

i purchased a okuma magnitude ML 5/6 and a Cabelas three forks 6 weight 9' rod. it will mainly used in lakes. what would you recommend?
i am new to this but
high vis 20lbs backing
fly line 6# WF (do i want floating or sinking)i would guess sinking
tippet?
lead around 9'?

i also bought a combo cabelas wind rod reel 4# 7' 6" rod for streams and such.[/quote]

Just 20 lb backing High Vis if that is the way it comes but I useplain old white dacron. Rarely see the backing anyway.

WF (Weight Forward) will be the way the sinking line comes, but you really need a floating line in which case you could go WF or DT (Double Tapered) . For stillwater, the WF is probably the best choice.
You should also get a spare spool for your reel and load it with maybe a TYPE II sinking (in either Density Compensated or Wet Cell)

Yes on tippet. At least the same size as the leader or one size smaller. They will come in "X" size. take the number 9 and subtract the X size and get a rough idea of the pound of the leader or tippet.
Stillwater, I would get a 7' 0X to 3X leader and attach 3X or 4X tippet (2 to 3 feet of tippet). This will help the leader last longer by adding tippet every time you change flies.
[signature]
thanks for the help.
joe
[signature]