Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
salmon in the river!
I am 150 miles down wind of all them salmon running up the river, I can smell them from my house... Man do I have the itch,... and a cold snap for the weekend to boot...

AAARRRRGGG Gas prices are killing me.....
[signature]
Sounds great. I'm a newbie hoping to get a salmon this year for eating. I live in the Newego area. Any recommendations on salmon areas?

I'm prob going to hit one of these rivers this week when the weather gets colder: Pere Marquette, Manistee River, Au Sable river
[signature]
Au Sable river, they have stopped planting salmon over there some years back. salmon are getting caught there, the ones that are are native. they are planting walleye there so you may just come up with an extra taisty morsel.

Manistee River, they plant this one regularly tho only half of what they used to plant. the other half goes over to the Milwalkee river in wisconson. (sory spelling) Manistee has a great number of holes that you can easily access from shore or waders and a half dozen boat ramps to launch small boats from, It has become my favorite place place to go since the plantings have stopped on the east side.

most all the west side rivers get salmon runs from grand rapids on up, starting with northern rivers first working downwards and temps drop.

Grand Rapids gets a lot of steelhead action this time of year
Flat rock gets a steelhead run now.
Stoney creek gets planted with steelhead a couple times a year.

most all of the fishing and tackle shops will be happy to tell you when the runs are in and what is being caught. (they want your patronage and would just asoon be closed when the runs are off to save money)

I do love fresh salmon, or home processed salmon that I have done myself. it always seems to taist better than store bought for some reason....[:p]
[signature]