Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Preferred Head Cement/Glue & Looking For A New Vise
Just wondering what you experienced fly tiers prefer for head cement/glue when tying? I have been tying for 4 years now and havent really found one that i like too much to alway buy.

Also, I am in the market for a new vise and was wondering if anyone had any advice on what to look for or purchase? Or even if someone has one they are looking to sell by chance.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
[signature]
Zap-A-Gap all the way. A little on the thread just before the whip finish. And it is one of the only waterproof super glues on the market.
[signature]
I'm no expert fly tier but I will second the zap a gap! That stuff is awesome!
[signature]
I tied for 4 years on a Cabelas kit. I tie lots of big streamers. This year I purchased the Dyna-King Trekker. I really like this vise. If I had not purchased the Trekker, I most likely would have purchase the Peak Rotary vise.
[signature]
Missed that part[Smile] Renzetti here and have been for a very long time. Has to be a Rotary Vise for me. Only other vise I would consider is the Nor.
[signature]
Clear finger nail polish is what I use now.I know I'm cheep,but it works just fine. I'll second flygoddess- Renzetti.
[signature]
+1 Sallys Hard as nails works Great and its only 1.50 at Walgreens [Wink]

@Cwoodson, Im a fan of Griffin vises Ive been tying with the Griffin Mongoose and I haven't had any trouble with it just place hook and tie [angelic]
[signature]
Zap a Gap is good stuff, but I can't put it on the thread before the whip finish because I use my fingers for that.
I also do my gluing when I'm finished with a tying session, all the flies at one time, so as not to be clog the glue container and need to remove and replace the cap for each fly.