Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Felt the need to tie
Call it what you will but I got a trip planned Monday to chase toothy critters and found I was a little short on flies. So I tied some up. It's been about 13 years since I tied these patterns and they look better than the first time I tried.
[signature]
Those look really good!! I too have been tying a bunch of big bass and pike flies been messin around with Mylar tubing alot if fun.
[signature]
Thanks! Last time I tied these was 13-14 years ago.
[signature]
Those are some good lookin flies you tied there. Considering I have only been tying my own for a few weeks now.......I would be proud if my version turned out as good as those.
[signature]
I can tell you these look a lot better than the batch I first tied 13+ years ago. Haven't tied them since until yesterday. Although practice over the years probably helped. [Tongue]
[signature]
I am new to fly tying and I was wondering what miteral do you use for streamers. All that I have used is maribow (i don't think I spelled that right but anyway) I am new to fly tying and I love streamers my number one fly behind caddis. So anyway you seam like you no a thing or 2 about fly tying so I hope you can get back to me thanks hunter
[signature]
Streamers can be ties from any number of materials. It all depends upon the streamer you want to tie. Most streamers imitate some kind of fish. Maribou is a great streamer material. Woolly buyers are a streamer made from maribou. Others like these that I tied imitate perch, bluegill, and pumpkinseed. These I used an imitation material called enricos sea fibers. Other streamers require different colors of feathers or a mix of the two. The attached photo shows many different streamers. Some tied with feathers, some with fur, and others with man made materials.
[signature]
I like the fly with the long tail. [Wink] Looks pretty tasty too me.
[signature]
A lot of streamers imitate LEECHES. As the egg sucking leech in your picture.