Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New tube head around here
And I mean NEW - I havent even gotten a tube yet! But I sold my kayak so I could!

Can someone offer an opinion on the best value in a tubing PFD/fishing vest.
[signature]
Hi there and welcome to BFT! You have come to the right place for info.

Here is a link to the float tubing board. That will be the best place for tubing info. For a pfd as a tuber/too dr myself I would recommend an inflatable. More comfortable. For a fishing vest I go with a regular fly fishing vest. There are chest packs out there as well.

http://www.bigfishtackle.com/forum/gforu...ategory=66

I will move this to the float tubing forum where others will ba able to help you out as well.
[signature]
I have been using inflatible PFDs for 3 years, i have a auto inflation when in the motor boat & a manual inflation in the kayak or the pontoon,
[signature]
Great info albino. Don't get me wrong, inflatable pfd are nice, but they are up there in price specially if you are on a budget for a tube or toon. Also not legal on certain waters.
I use a $25.00 Walmart special. Good enough for me when I was water skiing, good enough to have on hand on my boat.
I agree with your advice to check out TDs write up.
[signature]
Yes they are spends. I use a st earns my self but I have been drooling over the inflatables as of late[cool]
[signature]
[#0000FF]For many years I merely carried a regular approved vest type PFD on my tube...folding and tucking it in a pocket or other space. I also carried it pulled down over my seat. It was handy, and met the requirements for safety.

Thankfully, I never had to use it. I have heard a few Sad stories of boaters (not tubers) who were suddenly dumped in cold water and could not get to their PFDs...and suffered the consequences. It is not easy to put on a PFD after you are in the water and floundering around...especially with waders on.