Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New in Arizona
I am new to the Arizona board. I am originally from Idaho and want to get my lines wet again. I am headed to the Payson area this weekend and was wondering where a good place to fish is and what to use. I mostly fish for trout, but would like to get into fishing for bass too. Thanks for any info and I hope to contribute to the board often!

Tyler
[signature]
Hey welcome to the AZ boards!

What method of fishing are you going to be doing (shore/toon/fly/spin).
How far are you willing to go?
[signature]
I will be fishing from shore because I do not have a boat or pontoon. I have a spinning set up and I also have my fly fishing gear with me. We are going to be staying in Heber and I know there are some lakes around there. I saw one that says it has grayling in it and that has been a goal of mine to hook one of those. I have lures, flies, and like chucking some worms too. Thanks for the reply!

Tyler
[signature]
Okay the secret to fishing here in Arizona this time of year is going to be where the other masses of people aren't, especially this coming up weekend.

I've been skunked my last three visits to Fool Hollow Lake this year. Show Low Lake can give up some nice fish and is shore friendly. But it would be a safe guess it's going to be PACKED with people.

Somewhere that is worth putting up with people is Hawley Lake. It's by far one of the prettiest lakes in all of Arizona and very shore fishing friendly. Again, there will be a lot of people there. Very popular camping spot.

If you're into tossing flies, shoot me a PM and I'll tell you a few creeks up that way.

Personally, if I was heading up there this weekend I'd be looking towards Knoll Lake or Woods Canyon.

Usual fare will work on the slimers, you won't find a lot of holdovers or bigguns. Lots of hatchery trout. Powerbait, spinners, worms. Good luck and let us know how it goes!
[signature]