Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New to Fishing in Texas
Hi! I am new to fishing but am eager to learn. I am in South Texas with the gulf at my disposal so I am thinking I am going to be saltwater fishing. I am ready to fish but have no idea what pole or bait to use. Can you help? Since I am a novice I want to start with the basics and work myself up. I am a single mom of a 7 year old and would like to learn so that I can share this time with him. Thanks!<br><br>
Mom and son fishing; "gotta love ya" <br><br>A good source may be found at your local county 4-H Extension. The counties you live in should have all the fishing information you will want to read about. They may even have a fishing club that you can enroll your son in. <br><br>The best thing about 4-H clubs is that parents are encouraged to participate with all activities, making it a family club.<br><br>If you are able to find a club you will gain a valuable hands on experience.<br><br>From my experiences here in Michigan I have found that children boys and girls alike love fishing and will appreciate every moment you devote to them in this activity for years to come.<br><br><br>[cool] “Don’t forget to wiggle your jig.” davetclown
Thanks for your reply. I also live in Corpus Christi, Texas. If possible may my son, Michael and I, come to one of your fishing outings and see what you are all about. I am very new at fishing. I have basically no equipment but am going to buy some soon and am eager to learn. Team Oso looks like a very positive group my son and I would like to be a part of. Maybe we can just come and watch the first time. Is that possible? Thanks!<br><br>