Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Willard with WH2
WH2 and I hit willard this morning bright and early. I was looking forward to this trip with Curt for I have fished the Bay many times with no success. So today I have to say SUCCESS!!!!! Curt knows that lake.....

I learned some tricks that I have never used before and will work them into my repertoire.

Between the two of us we caught 11 fish. I did have a feisty fish on that I didn't quite get to the boat but it fought hard. Gotta think it may have been a wiper. One can hope at least.

Curts total:
2 wiper
3 walleye
1 catfish

My total:
4 walleye
1 catfish

The day was spent trolling different presentations from cranks to worm harnesses bottom bounced.

Here are a couple of pics. Didn't take pics of all the fish but they were all about the same size. And a couple of the eyes and the cats were all invited home for dinner.

[inline willardwalleye-400.jpg]
[inline willardchannelcat-400.jpg]
[signature]
Good work
[signature]
Thanks...[Smile]
[signature]
that curts a pretty good guy. he's a real ambasSador for Willard.[Wink]
[signature]
Looks like a good day! Its always nice to have success at a place that has beaten you in the past. I have never fished Willard. It is on my list. Nice fish!
[signature]
Yes Willard was good to me today. Largest walleye for me to date.
[signature]
It was great to get out with Curt and learn some new. Tricks for that water.
[signature]
Sounds like a great day out on the Bay. Curt really does know how to fish Willard.
[signature]
Very nice. Coulda got him to drag you around in your toon, who knows WHAT might have bit THAT bait!

Location and ability to get there, big pluses. I think the best lesson I learned (sounds simple right?) was to FEED the fish. Think I realized I may have missed lots of opportunities on my own ventures at TD would put it "washing lures".