Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
To buy a Optima battery or not????
I have a question. The Sams Club deep cycle battery two months old. I have now for my 55# trolling motor is only good for about five hours with the auto pilot on. Would I get more hours with an Optima battery?? What makes the Optima battery so much better. I usually have to quit fishing because I run out of power on the trolling motor. Any thoughts.
Thanks
Boatfisher[fishin]
[signature]
So with the little research Ive done and Ill be first one to admit im no expert when it comes to batteries. But when I was looking to power my trolling motor I looked at all the different brands, technologies & prices and Optima Batteries are a pretty great battery. My only drawback from purchasing a Optima is the price 227.00 at the time. After doing more research I found Optima Batteries are made by a Company called Johnson Control and even more research I found there only a hand full of Battery Manufactures then they get relabeled and sold as Brand X.

Any how long story short look for AGM Batteries that are made by Johnson Control in my Opinion any Good AGM or Gell Cell battery will last just as long the brand name Optima Battery and save you some $$$

Oh and I ended up going with a Cabelas AGM 27
[signature]
Thanks for the info. How long can you use your trolling motor. Mine is a 55# 12 volt. ps I will look at cabela's line. I want to be able to fish longer than four or five hrs.
[signature]
I get at least 6 but I dont use the motor all day also once I get home and put it on the charger the reader shows it 25 to 30% full. I guessing youll want to go with a size 30 for 7 to 8+ hours.

but my boats only a 17 footer with the same 55lb trolling motor.
[signature]
If you have room , just put in another battery like the one you have now . That will double your run time .
[signature]
Mine is a 16 foot alum. with a 50 horse outboard. Group 24 sounds pretty good. Thanks
[signature]