Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Lake Lowell x-Doe
I was lucky enough to draw the tag for the Oct 10 opening and had a question about the rules. It says I have to use a tree stand or platform, but doesn't say anything about a height requirement. Though it does say I can't peg into the trees when getting set to climb up...any suggestions or Info on a good set up? Would a 6' ladder to a stand be enough? I'm new to archery but not a bad shot. I just don't know much about the equipment required for this kind of stuff. I have a stand I'm borrowing but am also wondering if a platform as my second location would be something I could just make? I have to haul anything in by hand or cart.
Thanks for any help! I'd really appreciate it.
[signature]
You have three options to go with here. If you already have hang on tree stands get climbing sticks. If you already have a hang on stand or two this will be the cheapest route. They are not expensive and will get you 20ft in the air. Which is the height I prefer. If you don't have hangers yet it will be more expensive. Stealth is awesome with these setups. In and out with silence. Mobility is not the worst but still not fun.

Your next option is a ladder stand. Considered the safest way to hunt from a tree. They can be a little spendy but that's not the biggest draw back. Setting them up can be challenging and I don't advise anyone to even attempt it by them selves. They are usually priced ok and decently comfortable. Once they are up that are to hard to move around a bunch.