Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Streamer help
I was having a conversation on another post with Grunttwice about streamer fishing and I thought that I would throw this out there to everyone else as well. I grew up fishing with my Dad and he taught me how to fish drys, dry droppers, hoppers, nymph single and tandem rigs and just about everything else. But I never learned how to fish streamers (particularly on a river) and they have always intimidated me for that reason. Does anyone have any advice on this topic? I know that's a broad subject. I just don't really know where to start. patterns? colors? where? how and when? Do I NEED a sinking/sink tip line? leader suggestions? I have dedicated the last part of this season to become a streamer junkie.
[signature]
We did a "live" streamer seminar last winter. You can watch it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJ6JZ1Z2KWI

It's mainly fly tying related, but has some tips etc.
[signature]
I'm no expert by all means. What I use is a type 3 sink or sink tip 6-8wt with 4 ft of 12-20# fluoro. Cast up and across and strip back fast using the rod tip to give it action. Also I like to over line when fishing streamers. My favorite patterns are the provo hooker and sculpzilla.
[signature]
Try youtube- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=173f8ea99Y0 is a good introduction.
My opinion is technique is the most important factor with streamers. Yes certain colors and patterns can be more productive certain locations and time of year but they all absolutely work very well if they are presented properly.