Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Spooling spinning real with mono sans twist - a dumb idea?
I've never had issues putting new mono onto my spinning reels. Then again, I've never stepped up past 6lb test since I've always been a trout fisherman.

Put some 10lb mono on a reel to go onto my medium rod because I wanted to start targeting catfish. Wow! Now I know why everyone complains about line twist with spinning reels.

Even cutting the line off the spool after getting enough onto the reel and letting it all out before reeling back in didn't fix the problem.

So I had a weird idea. What if I tied one end of the 100 ft or so of 10lb mono to a ball bearing swivel, clipped it onto something stationary, and walked the line out to its full length before tying it to my reel and reeling it in. Would that allow for the line to untwist as I reel?
[signature]
I'm no expert on installing line but I remember reading that it has to do with how you install the line. From what I remember when you install line, it has to come off the spool in the right direction, if it comes off the wrong direction you get line twist. Basically the line needs to go in the reel spool the same as it comes off the line spool. Your idea might work but you might need to leave the line stretched out for a few days to get it to uncurl. You could also call one of the guys at one of the sporting goods stores that installs line on your reel. Hopefully someone else can give you a better answer but that is all I got.
[signature]
I was told you need to lay the spool of line label side up on the ground and reel it off that way. It seems to work 9 out of 10 times with no twist issues. If it starts to twist I flip the spool over and it usually stops.
[signature]