Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
night fishing from a boat, northern utah.
I'm itching to try some night fishing from a boat. I'll be up north so I'm thinking either willard bay or manuta. Do I have to be off the lakes at a certain time or am I good to go? Also can I have success with something other than catfish? Like bass, wiper or walleye up there in willard or manuta? I've fished Em plenty in the day and know what to do there but I have no experience with this night time situation. Any tips are fyi's would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
[signature]
I don't think you would have any problem at either lake, staying past dark. The gate is locked at Willard for those coming in but going out isn't a problem as long as you don't back up at the gate, because of the tire rippers. I can't tell you about the bass at Mantua after dark but you can catch walleye after dark at Willard, not sure about the wipers. I don't fish Willard after dark but I would think worm harnesses and bottom bouncers would work.
[signature]
That does sound fun with enough bug spray and a thermacel! Let us know how it goes, I'd love to give it a try if I ever get a free knight!
[signature]
Hey thanks for the info guys, yeah I'll go out friday night, probably fish from 8 to midnight or so with my brothers. I'll let you all know how it goes!
[signature]
Hello SirSimba55, I have'nt fished Willard or Mantua at night. But I have great success at Starvation at night using a green light. The production level is off the charts.
[signature]
I'm guessing you were jigging but what were you using for bait or lure. What kind of fish were you catching? Did you have the green light in the water?
[signature]