Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Lake Fishing Advice
Hey everybody,

I am a novice fly fisherman at best, but I do have enough experience on our rivers here to at least catch some fish when I go out. I recently bought a fishing pontoon and I'd love to catch some fish with my fly rod from my pontoon... That being said, I have no idea what to do. Do I need sinking line to have any chance at all? What type of flies should I use? Dry flies? Nymphs?

Really any help at all here would be much appreciated. Thank you in advance for any response.
[signature]
Streamers with floating line or sinking line is what I usually use while toon fly flinging. When the dry action is on I wouldn't pass that up. Nymphs while chasing panfish on the toon seems to work well for me too.

Areas I would target on a toon would be the inlets, outlets, and just out of reach of the shore fisherman.[Wink]
[signature]
Thank you very much for that. When you use the streamers how big do you use? Also do you retrieve them, drag them, let them sit? I don't know the first thing about using streamers.
[signature]
Welcome to the world of tubing/tooning with a fly rod.

It can be a little intimidating at first because
1- your not sure where to find the fish.
2- your not sure what to use.

That being said, almost all of the fish that I catch on stillwater is with some type of sinking line. You can catch some on the surface with floating or intermediate lines but if you are going with the odds, get the fly down. Buggers and leech patterns are a good place to start in sizes 4-10 in black, olive, Canada blood, and brown.

It's like anything else, put in your time and you will get good at fooling some fish.[Wink]

Good Luck!
[signature]
If you scroll and search this forum and the float tubing forum here, you'll find literally volumes of information about fly fishing the lakes, and fly fishing from tubes and toons. I mean, days worth of reading.