Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New Drift Boat
Picked me up a 2016 Hyde High side this past weekend. Anyone with rowing experience who would be willing to share some pointers/tips would be greatly appreciated. I will be picking up the boat on the 25th and my plan is to put it in a lake and get used to the oars before I take it on the river. I have floated the Green on a pontoon boat but I have no experience rowing a drift.

Thanks in advance,

T.B.
[signature]
Congrats! Sorry no tips for ya, I never bought a drift boat because I figured I would always end up rowing, screw that!!
[signature]
Lucky!!!

There are good videos on YouTube about rowing a drift boat and good information on the internet as to specific rivers.

I love rowing -- almost as much as fishing and it's great exercise to boot.
[signature]
Congrats again on the purchase! I'm looking to snag my first one this spring. I don't have a ton of experience rowing a drift boat(few hours on a mellow river) but like you I've done quite a bit of pontoon floating through hairy waters. My big suggestion to you would be forget the lake head up to the upper green below the fontenelle and lean to row there. It's super wide and slow with no real rapids, a great place to start I've been told. If you ever need a shuttle car(i've got a hitch) I'm always down to take a float and share the rowing!

PS: I know the green up there quite well
[signature]
Cool man, Thanks for the advice! I will definitely keep you in mind.

T.B.
[signature]
Anyone know anything about the first stretch of the South Fork below PaliSades? The guy @ Hyde told me it was a good flat section he wouldn't be afraid to send anyone to. Looks pretty mellow. Would this be a good place to learn?

Thanks,

T.B.
[signature]
Congrats on the purchase. Best advice I can give is spend some time on the water with those who know how to row, watch, and learn. PM me. I'll give some pointers.
[signature]