Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New to Idaho!
Hey all,

Im a student at BYU-I in Rexburg and I need to know where some good lakes are to fish. I am used to small mouth and have a kayak i usually fish out of. Being a poor student I don't have a ton of gas money to get far, where are the closest places around here?

Any help is very appreciated! thanks so much
[signature]
welcome man I am up here as well. for me usually in the after noon i just go down on the snake like to the sportsman's assesses around and i do pretty well catching small trout and suckers from the bank, but lakes and reservoirs i dont know anything about that one. my roommate and i tried Mcctucker ponds a few weeks ago and were catching bass galore, but then he hooked himself and we had to leave and go to the emergency care, but Mcctucker ponds is about 80 miles away. its a fun place to camp as well.
[signature]
You can try paliSades reservoir. Pretty good trout fishing, and I see people fishing with kayaks when I go there. Its just a straight shot up 26. Or the snake Is decent pretty much anywhere for small trout with an occasional big brown. Im new to the area as well, but thanks to help from this board ive already found a ton of great spots. Not sure about your kayak on the snake right now though its pretty high and fast. Good luck!
[signature]
[ul][li]Probably your closest warmwater species would be at Ririe Reservoir (smallmouth, perch), Roberts Gravelpond (cats and mini-perch), and Mud Lake sometimes still produces perch in the spring and winter.
[/li][/ul]
[signature]
have you ever tried egin lake and if you have what type of fish are there?
[signature]