Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
help w/ walleye location?
Can somebody give me some advice or know how, on finding big walleye under the ice? The lake that I fish is in utah, it has recently been introduced with perch, this has had a major affect on how to fish the lake. I have been fishing on hard water for 2 months so far this year. With only small eyes out of 65 to 55 feet of water, can some one give me input on well established lakes with eyes and perch. Do I need to go shallower?
[signature]
rockey areas , drop offs , bays and cut areas of any lake that has them there . the last one i cought was only in 15' of water just outside a weed bed .
[signature]
[Wink]move around alot, looking for points, bottom changes IE; from rock to sand stay away from muddy bottoms, look for sharp drop offs, any changes in the bottom will usually hold eyes, especailly if there are rocks in the area, move around until you find the size you are looking for, change the size of your lure if you still are only catching small males. Look for where the perch are congrigated and fish just a little ways away from them especially if there is a drop off or alot of structure near by. The eyes will be waiting there to ambush the perch. good luck. [Wink]
[signature]