Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
storage of float tube and pontoon boat
I am new to Utah having come from San Diego where the coldest it gets is 70 degrees. Is it safe to store my floating equipment in an outside storage shed and should I leave them half full of air? Is there any thing else I should be concerned about keeping my equipment safe and in good order? Any information would be very helpful.
Thank you in advance.

Rusty
[signature]
Ya, leave some air in them but I would bring them inside, I keep mine in the basement as I think the freezing temps. could damage them, but im no expert.
[signature]
[#0000FF]Spent a few of my earlier years in and around San Diego. Good fresh and salt water action. Miss it. Also miss the year round warmer temps...especially after a big snow dump like we had over Christmas.

If you have the space, it is wise to leave the air chambers at least partially inflated. The last thing you want to do is suck all the air out and then fold the bladders up tight and flat...especially in below freezing temps. Some air chamber materials...like urethane...are tougher than thin vinyl. But the cold hardens both and unfolding them while they are in a rigid state can cause breaks and tears.

What part of Utah have you plunked down in...and where to you plan to do most of your fishing...and for what species. I'm sure we can shorten your learning curve.

Welcome aboard.
[/#0000FF]
[signature]
We moved to West Jordan and love it! Just came back from San Diego and the traffic was very bad, took 9 hours just to get to State Line Na. I do miss the weather but not the people.